The new normal

Up, I’m up. It’s early. I did my steps, boiled my water, turned off my alarms that didn’t go off because I woke up just before the appointed hour.

Started using this app called Wakie where a stranger can call you as an alarm that you set. I don’t feel in the mood to chat this early, but thinking about the conversation that I would have or have had with wife an kids and myself got me up. A decision made the night before, that has teeth.

What am I doing right now?

The plan is to go to bed at a reasonable time every night, get up at a unreasonable time each morning, work hard at the hourly job that pays the bills so that I can get home to spend time with my family and work on my dreams.

What are those dreams?

1. Learn to code.

2. Learn to play the guitar.

3. Start that website that I have wanted to build for the last 8 years. (It’s my startup idea that never had a business model, until now)

And kick my blog back into gear. The blog is not a dream, that’s the teeth to let me process my thoughts and get me off of facebook.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/dfd/18513/files/2014/12/img_2433-0.png

6 thoughts on “The new normal

  1. Normal is what you make it. Normal for me is waking up at 4:30 to do yoga with my wife, make her breakfast, fart around on WordPress, Reddit, and Facebook for a bit before I start writing. Get a bit of writing done in-between distractions, and go to work. Hourly, as well, but it pays the bills. Come home, either make dinner or go to bed, and start over again.

    As an aside, I was drawn to the post by Minecraft, if that tells you anything.

      • It takes awhile to do, starting on a personal level. It took me about two months to even be alright with the idea of opening my eyes that early. From there, it was a chore to roll out of bed, then to work a sweat that early, then to…You get the picture.

        However, it does have it’s perks. Even if I work at 9 in the morning, I can usually get a couple of things done before then. My wife goes to work at 6:45, and from there I’ve got the house to myself. Plenty of time for writing…or Minecrafting.

        As for your other comment, I agree that this generation will one day run everything. I don’t believe that will exactly be a bad thing.

Leave a comment